Mental Health & Family

This page has been created as a centralized resource for parents and school counselors. It is not intended to be used as a substitution for diagnosis, treatment, or professional advice.

If you are in a crisis or if someone you are with is in a crisis, contact emergency authorities immediately.

All links provided on this page go to external sites. East Lyme Schools and its employees take no responsibility for the content and control of information on the sites as they are provided as a resource to those who wish to utilize them.

General Mental Health

Dial - 211 for immediate assistance   

*East Lyme and Salem residents Over age 18 call Southeast Mental Health Authority  (860) 886-9302) 

Better Help - Articles and Advice about Mental Health - https://www.betterhelp.com/advice/ 

Child Health and Development Institute of Connecticut – Mental Health services for children http://www.kidsmentalhealthinfo.com/ 

Connecticut Mental Health and Addiction Services - http://portal.ct.gov/services/health-and-human-services/health-and-wellness/mental-health-and-addiction-services 

Connecticut Mental Health Care Information - http://uwc.211ct.org/category/mental-health-care/ 

Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services (DMHAS) http://www.ct.gov/dmhas/  

Emergency Mobile Psychiatric Services (211) - Mental Health Support and Evaluation for those under age 18 - http://www.portal.ct.gov/DCF/Behavioral-Health-Partnership/Emergency-Mobile-Psychiatric-Services 

Hartford Healthcare - (Backus Hospital, Natchaug, Rushford) - A Network of Providers and Resources - https://hartfordhealthcare.org/locations-partners/... 

L&M Hospital Behavioral Medicine (Counseling Services)  https://www.lmhospital.org/services/behavioral-medicine.aspx 

Mental Health First Aid - Identify, Understand and Respond to signs of mental illnesses and substance use disorders  https://www.mentalhealthfirstaid.org/ 

Mobile Crisis Intervention Services - http://www.empsct.org/  

Southeastern Mental Health Authority - http://www.ct.gov/dmhas/cwp/view.asp?a=2917&q=335372  

Statewide Family Advocacy for Children's Mental and Behavioral Health http://www.favor-ct.org/ 

Treatment Placement Specialists –Residential Placement Assistance -     http://www.treatmentplacementspecialists.com/ 

Walden Behavioral Care for Psychiatric and Eating Disorders - http://www.waldenbehavioralcare.com/ 

Family

D.C.F. and Family Support

CT Children's Behavioral Health Plan - http://www.plan4children.org/ 

Dept. Of Children and Families Voluntary Services Program - https://portal.ct.gov/DCF/Behavioral-Health-Partnership/Voluntary-Services-Program 

Family With Service Needs - Parent Complaint Form - http://www.jud.ct.gov/webforms/forms/jm120a.pdf -  

Summary of Family With Service Needs - http://uwc.211ct.org/family-with-service-needs/ 

Hartford Healthcare - A Network of Providers and Resources https://hartfordhealthcare.org/locations-partners/... 

Single Mother Grant info - http://singlemothersgrants.org/single-mothers-assistance-in-connecticut/ 

 
Teen Pregnancy 

American School Counselor Association - Guidance, Tips, and Resources - http://schoolcounselor.org/ 

Catholic Charities - Pregnancy Services - http://www.ccfsn.org/pregnancy-help.html 

Child and Family Agency of Southeastern CT - http://www.childandfamilyagency.org/ 

Governor's Prevention Partnership – Parent Resource Center  http://www.preventionworksct.org/resources/parent_resource.html 

Madonna Place serving New London County - http://www.madonnaplace.org/index.html 

National Association of School Psychologists - http://www.nasponline.org/ 

Planned Parenthood of Southern New England - https://www.plannedparenthood.org/planned-parenthood-southern-new-england 

Sexual Health for teens and young adults - http://www.iwannaknow.org/teens/pregnancyparenthood.html 

Uncas Health District (Serving Salem) -http://uncashd.org/ 

Suicide Prevention

American Foundation for Suicide Prevention - https://afsp.org/ 

Brain Daigle Foundation - http://brianshealinghearts.org/ 

Connecticut Suicide Prevention Plan 2020 - http://www.preventsuicidect.org/files/2015/04/Suicide-Prevention-Plan-2010.pdf 

National Suicide Prevention Lifeline - http://suicidepreventionlifeline.org/ 

Suicide Awareness Voices of Education - https://www.save.org/ 

Suicide Prevention Information - http://www.preventsuicidect.org/ - "Resources" tab  

Suicide Prevention Resource Center - http://www.sprc.org/ 

Suicide Awareness Voices of Education - https://www.save.org/ 

LGBTQ

College choice support - 

Guide to college for LGBTQ students 

https://www.bestcolleges.com/resources/lgbtq-student-guide/ 

https://www.bestcolleges.com/financial-aid/lgbtq-scholarships/  

College Guide for LGBTQ Students 

College Scholarships for LGBTQ Students 

The Best College for LGBTQ Students in Each State 

GSA Network - https://gsanetwork.org/ 

Mental Health First Aid for an LGBTIQ person - https://mhfa.com.au/sites/default/files/considerations-when-providing-MHFA-to-an-LGBTIQ-person.pdf 

Support and Advocacy for LBGT Community - http://rainbowheights.org/  

Trevor Project - Crisis Intervention and Suicide Prevention to LGBTQ Youth  http://www.thetrevorproject.org/ 

The Gay, Lesbian, and Straight Education Network - http://www.glsen.org 

The Human Rights Campaign - LGBT Civil Rights Advocacy Group - http://www.hrc.org/ 

True Colors, Sexual Minority Youth and Family Services - http://www.ourtruecolors.org/ 

Grief & Trauma

Grief Management 

American Academy of Pediatrics - http://www.aap.org/ (Search "Children and Disasters") 

Brain Daigle Foundation - http://brianshealinghearts.org/ 

Center for the Study of Traumatic Stress: Restoring a Sense of Well-being in Children After Disaster 

Coalition to Support Grieving Students - www.grievingstudents.org 

The Cove Center for Grieving Children - http://www.covect.org/ 

Mental Health America, Helping Children Cope with Tragedy Related Anxiety - http://www.mentalhealthamerica.net/children-cope-with-tragedy 

National Association of School Psychologists - http://www.nasponline.org/ 

National Center for School Crisis and Bereavement - www.schoolcrisiscenter.org 

National Child Traumatic Stress Network - http://www.nctsn.org/ 

SECT Center for Hospice Care - https://www.hospicesect.org/bereavement-services/expressive-arts -  

Sesame Street Resources (Search "Grief") - http://www.sesamestreet.org/parents/topicsandactivities/toolkits/grief  

 

Sexual Assault/Dating Violence/Victims of Crime Information 

CT Alliance to End Sexual Assault - http://endsexualviolencect.org/ 

State of CT Judicial Branch Office of Victim Services - http://www.jud.ct.gov/crimevictim/ 

Date Safe Project - https://www.datesafeproject.org/ 

Jane Doe No More - https://www.janedoenomore.org/ 

Joyful Heart Foundation - Sexual Assault Resources -http://www.joyfulheartfoundation.org/ 

National Child Traumatic Stress Network - https://www.nctsn.org/ 

National Domestic Violence Hotline - Love Is Respect - Healthy Relationships - http://www.loveisrespect.org/ 

Safe Futures - Helping those impacting by Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault http://www.safefuturesct.org/# 

S.A.V.E. Students Against Violence Everywhere - Relationship Violence - http://nationalsave.org/who-we-are/chapters/chapter-access/relationship-violence-prevention/ 

Sexual Assault Crisis Center of Eastern CT - http://www.saccec.org/ 

U.S. Dept. of Human and Health Services - Healthy Relationships -https://teenpregnancy.acf.hhs.gov/resources/healthy-relationships-0 

National Domestic Violence Hotline - Love Is Respect - Healthy Relationships - http://www.loveisrespect.org/ 

The National Child Traumatic Stress Network - Improving access to care, treatment, and services for traumatized children and adolescents exposed to traumatic events. https://www.nctsn.org/ 

Treatment Placement Specialists - http://www.treatmentplacementspecialists.com/